About Me

sharonrogers
“Sharon is an Equestrian Advisor and Writer with us at StateLineTack.com. After years of experience in the field, Sharon is using her knowledge to get the word out to educate beginners and first time horse owners and hopefully get a few people involved in the lifestyle who otherwise might not have known enough about it. On behalf of the State Line Tack team, we welcome you to Horse Blog!”

I was born on January 3rd, 1984 in New York City. When I was 3, I began to express interest in learning more about horses. At the age of 12, my family arranged for a visit to a horse farm in Upstate NY. By the end of that day, I was a genuine equine enthusiast. I was able to afford riding lessons with the help of my family and continued the lessons for several years. When I turned 16, I began working at the same horse farm part-time. Between working, commuting, and school, I was very busy. Yet I powered through my high school years, finishing at the top of my class and learning a lot about how to properly run a horse related business. When my guidance counselor was listing off related college majors, I jumped at the chance to attend veterinary college.

After graduating high school, I went to Veterinary school in Colorado. I spent four solid years, including summers, learning to become a veterinarian. Upon graduating, I almost moved back to NYC, but instead moved to Utah with my college roommate to start our own business. We spent several years working with horse farms and stables in northern Utah and the greater surrounding areas. We were able to turn businesses around, help better care for their horses, and even help some of them expand. Truly, the work was rewarding. After a decade of working to get together, my friend and I dissolved the business and went our separate ways. While my partner wanted to open up her own stable, I wasn’t ready to settle down yet.

I moved to Phoenix and started my own equine rescue business, saving horses while improving stables and farms throughout the southwestern United States. In the last 6 years alone, I have saved countless horses. In my free time, I enjoy reading, exercising, going to the movies, and horseback riding in new and interesting locations.